Users

The Users part of the Accounts section contains user administration for Friend.

User list

The user list contains all users available in the system. In here, the administrator can search, filter, sort and add new users.

Pressing button will open the following options:

  • New user – opens the New User profile view
  • Show/Hide disabled users – Shows or hides the disabled accounts in the system
  • Show/Hide locked users – Shows or hides the locked accounts in the system

Search field allows you to search for a user by its name or username.

You can sort the users by Name, Username, Status or Last Login.

Clicking on an existing user opens the Edit User profile view.

Disabled users are accounts which were manually disabled by an administrator. These users won’t be able to login into the system anymore until they are re-enabled again. Once an account is disabled, it will be automatically logged out on all devices and removed from current workgroups and Friend Chat. If re-enabled, the user will be able to login back again and the account will gain back the previous workgroups and Friend Chat account.

Locked users are accounts which were automatically locked when the user tried a wrong password too many times. They will display with red text in the list and they will always be on top of the list.

New User profile view

The New User profile view allows you adding a new user to the system.

In here the administrator can add the following :

  • Avatar – pressing “Browse” button will open the file explorer to choose a photo. If no file is selected, the user will adopt a default avatar consisting with his first two name initials.
  • Full name
  • Username
  • E-mail
  • New password and Confirmation of the password
  • Level – opens a drop down list with the options : Normal user, Administrator, Guest user and API user
  • Language – opens a drop down list with various options to choose
  • Template – opens a drop down list with available templates in the system. Read more about Templates here.

Cancel button will cancel the user creation by closing it. Save button saves the new user into the system.

Edit User profile view

Once a user is created, the administrator can edit the user properties.

  • Avatar – pressing “Browse” button will open the file explorer to choose a new photo.
  • Full name
  • Username
  • E-mail
  • Reset password button which triggers the fields “New password” and “Confirm password”
  • Level – opens a drop down list with the options : Normal user, Administrator, Guest user and API user
  • Language – opens a drop down list with various options to choose
  • Template – opens a drop down list with available templates in the system. Read more about Templates here.
  • Account locked toggle off/on which allows to lock or unlock a user
  • Account disabled toggle off/on which allows to disable or re-enable a user
  • Bin button which when pressed triggers “Delete” button. In order to delete the user account from the system the “Delete” button needs to be pressed.

Cancel button will cancel the user editing. Save button saves the edited properties into the system.

Workgroups

This section allows you to add or remove the user from available workgroups in the system.

You can simply remove the users from the current workgroup by toggle off button. Pressing “+” button will open a new window where all the workgroups available in the system will be displayed.

Here you can toggle on the workgroups you want to add the user to. Pressing the “<–” button will save the changes and return you back to the previous screen.

If a workgroup has Shared drives connected to it, they will be automatically added to the user’s account when the administrator adds that workgroup to the user’s profile.

Roles – TBD

Storage

In here the administrator can add, remove, mount or unmount any drive connected to the user. When a new user is created he/she gets by default a “Home” drive which is 512MB in size.

In Friend users can have various types of drives connected to their account. In order to add new storage drives simply press “+” button. This opens a new window where the administrator can do the following:

  • Enter the disks’s name
  • Type of the disk will open a drop down list where you can choose the desired disk. Read more about types of storage here.
  • Select the size of the disk
  • Save or Cancel the changes .

F.e this user has a Shared drive with his workgroup, Google drive and an unmounted DropBox drive in addition to his/hers Home drive.

The Administrator can control all drives connected to a user . If you click on the desired drive you want to change a new window will open allowing edits to the drive:

  • The name of the drive
  • The size of the drive
  • Notes related to the drive
  • Unmount disk button – which will unmount the disk from the user’s account. This means the user won’t be able to see or access this drive anymore. Once a disk is unmounted will become grayed out in the Storage list. The administrator can mount the disk back any time by clicking on the grayed out drive and press “Mount disk”
  • Remove disk – which will delete the disk from the user’s account.
  • Cancel button will discard the changes and return the user to the previous screen
  • Save button will save the new edits and return the user to the previous screen.

Applications

You can add or remove applications found on the user’s account.

You can remove applications by pressing “-” button . If you want to add more applications to the user’s account you need to press “+” button. This will open a new window where all the applications in the system are displayed .

Dock

The administrator can at all times add, remove, arrange or re-arrange applications in the user’s dock.

In here you can move the applications up or down the list, first application being placed first in the dock on user’s side. Pressing “-” button will activate “Delete” and once that is pressed, the application will be removed from the list, therefore from the user’s dock too.

You can add new applications to the dock with “+” button which will open the list of available applications in the user’s account :

Once you toggled on the desired applications, press “<–” button to save changes and return to the previous screen.

Look and feel

Look and feel section allows you to edit the user’s display settings.

In here you can edit the following :

  • Dark theme – Toggle off and the user will have the light theme; Toggle on and the user will have charcoal theme.
  • Window controls – Windows style : the minimize/maximize/close buttons on window will be displayed on the right side; Mac style : the buttons will be displayed on the left side.
  • Workspaces – choose how many virtual workspaces the user will have on their account
  • Wallpaper – choose the display wallpaper on user’s desktop.
Was this page helpful?